My First DIY

FYI:  This is a picture heavy post!

You guys know how excited I am to infuse lots of DIY details into our day.  We splurged big on our caterer and photographer, so I am looking forward to saving some money and really personalizing our wedding with lots of wonderful details.

The unfortunate thing about DIY is that, when you’re having a long engagement like Dr. Groomy and I are, it’s not something you can really get started on right away.  This can lead to complete inspiration overload, but it can also be really helpful—you can test out DIY projects before you fully commit to doing them…and a few weeks ago, that’s just what I did!

Although I have been conflicted about colors and decor since we started planning, I saw one inspiration pic early on in our engagement that I KNEW I would be incorporating into our ceremony decor:

Aisle Pomanders(Source)

AISLE POMANDERS.  I love, love, LOVE the way these look.  And because our church doesn’t have traditional pews but instead has wooden chairs, these would work perfectly for our ceremony decor!

Unfortunately, flower pomanders cost an arm AND a leg…but fortunately, those lovely balls in the pic above aren’t made of flowers.  They’re made of…tissue paper!  Score.   A DIY I know I can pull off. 

So two weeks ago, following the tutorial from the lovely Vintage Glam blog, as well as Weddingbee, I decided to do a trial run and make a tissue paper pomander using some random ribbon and tissue paper I had around the house.

A couple of points to note:

1.  I used random stuff I had laying around, because as I said, this was a test run.  When all is said and done, our pomanders will be ivory or champagne gold, with a champagne colored ribbon.  Please ignore the hellacious red and yellow colors seen here.

2.  If you’re going to attempt this project, I highly suggest investing in a paper cutter.  I’m lucky and work in an office that has an industrial paper cutter.  I am not lucky in the fact that I forgot to bring it home the weekend I made this pomander…so it’s a bit messier than I’d like and not as uniform as they eventually will be, simply because my paper sheets were similar sizes but not the exact same size. 

3.  I’ll be showing you how I created my pomander in two parts.  Part one involves making all the flowers, and part two involves actually putting the pomander together.

Ok, now that we’ve got that out of the way, let’s check out the pics!

Miscellaneous 018 
First, set up your supplies.  Tissue Paper, ribbon, 22-gauge flower wire, 4” styrofoam balls, glue gun, wire cutter.  (I had to go out and get the wire cutter, glue gun, and balls, as I didn’t already have those).

Part One:  Make your flowers.

Miscellaneous 019 
Step One:  Cut your paper.  These are 5” x 8” sheets. 

 

Miscellaneous 020 
Step Two:  Fold your paper.  Stack four sheets on top of each other and accordion fold.

 

Miscellaneous 021 
Step Three:  Wrap with floral wire.  I think my pieces of wire were about 5” long?  Maybe less (sorry, not that’s not very precise blogging by me!).  Wrap around the middle of your folded sheets and twist.

 

Miscellaneous 022 
Step Four:  Round the ends with a regular scissors.  Maybe a corner rounder would work here too, depending on the size?  I just used scissors.  Easy peasy.

 

Miscellaneous 023 
Step Five:  Unfold.

 

Miscellaneous 024 
Step Six:  Fluff.

 

Miscellaneous 025 
Voila!  You have a big ol’ flower!  Lather, rinse, and repeat steps 1-6 until you have as many flowers as you need.  I needed roughly 20 or so (I could’ve used a few more) for each 4” ball.

 

Part Two is actually putting the pomander together.

Miscellaneous 026 
Step One: Using a screwdriver, drive a hole through the center of your styrofoam ball for your ribbon.  This looks deceptively easy but was sort of a pain in the arse. 

 

Miscellaneous 027 
Step Two:  Thread your ribbon.  This step is KEY.  I tried (unsuccessfully) to just shove my ribbon through the styrofoam ball.  Um, needless to say, it didn’t work, and I wasted a big bunch of ribbon doing that.  Instead, use some floral wire to create a “needle” to help guide the ribbon through the ball.  After you’ve thread the ribbon through the ball, you can remove this “needle” easily. 

 

Miscellaneous 028 
Step Three:  Knot the ribbon a few times at the end.  Next time I do this, I might actually glue the ribbon down with a dot from the glue gun as well, just for extra hold.  Cut your ribbon how you’d like…some people prefer not to have ribbon coming out of the bottom of the pomander, and some people are all about that.   For this trial, I cut the ends nicely and let them hang out.   Voila!  Now you’re ready to glue!

 

Miscellaneous 029 
Step Four:  Add a dab of hot glue to the base of your flower, and shove it on into the styrofoam ball.  (You can barely see the glue in this pic, but trust me, it helps.)  Continue gluing flowers in until you have a completed pomander (I am sorry to tell you that I don’t have any pics with my ball being halfway completed.  Bad blogger, I know!).

 

And voila:  a DIY flower pomander!

Miscellaneous 035

Overall, I am happy with how it turned out.  These are definitely a rough cut, but like I said before, I think they will look great—and much more uniform—once I cut the paper with a cutters and use the softer colors I described.  This will hopefully be easy to pull off, as I plan to invite my bridesladies over to help me fold, fluff, and cut!

Did your first DIY projects turn out as you expected?

8 Comments

Filed under Decor, How-To

8 responses to “My First DIY

  1. Ali

    Wow- that actually turned out really neat!
    Let me know if there is anything I can do for you?- I don’t know if you have any small projects you would like to delegate to me yet, but I am always ready!

  2. Jill

    Wow Amy! It looks great! You are so crafty! I also wanted to mention that I love your new color scheme. The colors will look great in your venue.

  3. irunthereforeieat

    I didn’t do a SINGLE DIY craft for my wedding, unless you count tying a ribbon with our names/date around a candle holder….and, you know I don’t even HAVE one of the silly favors anymore. :-)

  4. Pingback: Obsessed with Pomanders « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  5. Pingback: We Have A Winner! « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  6. Pingback: CYU* « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. bfbbrgecga oktibphk vreihspbacp jlicwtkiwu hghyxfmo usrfytnll pbziwjsezyd qxazijsj nmgrddxb

  8. It was very touching to everyone who tennis braces attended.
    Relatives of Black WalnutClose botanical cousins of the black walnut are the
    butternut, the hickory and the tennis braces pecan tree.
    Roethlisberger isn’t the only predisposing activity, either. They’re located behind Bible Baptist Church at 4849 So.

Leave a Reply

