DIY: Bathroom Baskets

We had a major wedding craft session in our household this weekend, so expect a lot of DIY posts from me this week.  First up:  Bathroom Baskets!

I know, I know…it seems a bit early to be doing bathroom baskets, since the wedding is still 7 months away.  In effort to stay organized and meet my goal of “no wedding tasks left to complete wedding week,” I am trying to knock off as many little tasks as possible early on—one of those being bathroom baskets.

If you’re not familiar with the wedding world, you might be asking yourself what bathroom baskets are (Dr. Groomy definitely looked at me like I was nuts when I showed them to him!).  Basically, they are baskets of little toiletries you put in the bathroom of your reception venue as a courtesy to your guests.  Ours look like this:

 Wedding DIY 003 The Boys’

 Wedding DIY 002 The Girls’

I bought the baskets at Michael’s a few weeks ago when they were having a may-jah sale (and my 40% off coupons didn’t hurt, either!).  I bought the frames at the dollar store and printed the poem on regular old white computer paper.  I mounted that on some gold paper (also from Michael’s), cut it to size, and voila!  A cute sign to go with the bathroom baskets:

Wedding DIY 004 The poem says:
So happy you’re here sharing our special day
But just in case something should go astray:

Please help yourself to the contents within
Mouthwash, hand lotion or ibuprofen

Use what you need, and just leave the rest
For it may be useful to some other guest!

Repair the damage that may have been done,
Then quick!  Hurry back and join in the fun!
Shamelessly stolen from Weddingbee.

So what’s in em?
Chapstick
Lint Roller
Shout Wipes
Tide-To-Go Stick
Gum
Hand Lotion
Deodorant
Colgate Wisps (mini disposable toothbrushes)
Mouthwash
A travel manicure set
Q-Tips
Hair Ties (Girls Only)
Bobby Pins (Girls Only)
Safety Pins
Toothpicks
Chapstick
Contact Solution
Eye Drops
Tampons (Girls Only)
Panty Liners (Girls Only)
Band-aids
Body Spray
Hair Spray
Hair Brush
Comb
Tums
And…I think that’s it!

I bought most of the items in the travel aisle of Target, so they were all about $0.99 each. 

Price breakdown for the baskets:
$6.00 for each basket, plus 37.oo in supplies for each one = $43.00 per basket.  A little more than I would have liked to spend, but I know we’ll get use out of the items (and baskets!) even after the wedding is over. 

Are you doing Bathroom Baskets?  What amenities will you supply your guests?

41 Comments

Filed under How-To

41 responses to “DIY: Bathroom Baskets

  1. Adorable! I just blogged about those on the ‘bee, too! I love that poem, too cute!

  2. Stephanie

    Super Cute!! I am definitely making something similar…and including bug repellent and sunscreen since our wedding is outside…oh and I might have to steal that poem too :)

  3. neimanmarxist

    wow, i am seriously impressed with the bathroom baskets. you are so with it, girl!

    i like the 2nd save the date best :)

    and: on the shape wear: girl, buy yourself a lacy white thong. you’re going to look amazing in that beautiful dress and you don’t want to be sweating in some spandex prison. or at least think about it. :kiss:

  4. Pingback: Tutorial: How To Work a Xyron « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  5. Pingback: On Having a Life « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  6. Pingback: Featured on DIY Files! « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. I wish we had a place to put bathroom baskets at our venue.

  8. I want to subscribe to your feed but I can’t seem to find where.

  9. Great idea! Hadn’t really thought of this yet. My niece is getting married in July and we have SO much to do yet….it’s so overwhelming!!!

  10. Thanks for that post. I think the bathroom basket is the best idea I’ve seen in a long time. I could have used one of those at many weddings that I’ve been a guest at.

    I posted a link to your site on my blog too, its that great of an idea!

  11. Linda

    Thanks so much. Love the amenities basket idea. I am going to make them up for my daughters wedding at the end of Sept.

  12. I love this! I am featuring it on CrazyDomestic.com this Tuesday! Thanks for the fun idea!
    -Steph

  13. Pingback: DIY: Bathroom Vanity Baskets « My Wedding Planning Blog!

  14. kass

    I am wondering what font you used for the “please help yourself” as well as your initials at the bottom. Thanks!!!

  15. amyc13

    Hi Kass,

    The font used is Chopin Script, which you can download for free from http://www.dafont.com. Thanks!

  16. kass

    Perfect! I got that downloaded… but now I cant figure out how to get our initials to kind of “twine” together like yours. (yours is the nicest sign I have seen yet!!) Mine seems to almost 1.5 space the lines, even tho it says its single spaced. I didnt think I was a computer moron, but I may just be! Do you have yours saved still? Any possibility you could email it to me, so I can just change the letters? If not, no worries!

  17. amyc13

    Hi Kass! Glad you got the font downloaded. As for the initials, it’s actually a JPEG image of a monogram I made to use throughout our wedding. I designed it first in Microsoft Word using text boxes–one text box for each letter, then you format the text box to be translucent and have no lines….then you can sort of place the letters how you want. I used another text box for the name and date below the monogram, and then used my snipping tool (it comes with the newer version of windows) to “snip” the entire thing and save it as a JPEG. I hope that makes sense! It’s a really old school way of doing things but I am not well-versed in Photoshop so I usually do a lot of my designing in Microsoft Word. Give that a try and I will look back in my older files to see if I have anything saved that you could edit from.

  18. what a nice idea, makes the guests feel at home for sure!

  19. Pingback: 7 Links « The Bookworm Wife

  20. Monica

    Can you please email me the water bottle template???

  21. amyc13

    Hi Monica,

    I don’t have the template saved anymore–it was actually emailed to me from a friend, but if you do a Google search for “free water bottle template” or “free wedding water bottle template” there are many wedding related ones that come up that you can download direct from the web.

    Thank you for visiting!

  22. Pingback: Elements of Elegance ~ Wedding Consulting & Floral Design ~ Making Moments into Memories » Bathroom Baskets

  23. I used to be able to find good information from your articles.

  24. Katie6494

    SOOO Cute, can I use the poem?

  25. amyc13

    Absolutely! I took the poem from Weddingbee and I have seen them all over the place.

  26. This ideal is amazing.. I never would’ve even thought of doing this.. AMAZING…

  27. Octbride

    Thanks for sharing… building our baskets now for Oct wedding and so helpful to see samples like this. I love drugstore shopping so this is a fun DIY! Few extra thoughts for what to include – headache medicine, cough drops, baby powder, wet wipes, purell, clear nail polish for girls room – stops pantyhose runs :). Someone on another blog suggested earring backs – not sure where to find those cheap but I’ll throw them in if I ever find any.

    I found cute oil blotting sheets in weddingy packaging at Michaels for two bucks for a huge pack. And agree on getting baskets at Michaels on sale or w coupon – got a couple nice ones on clearance for like $5 total. I also picked up some apple cinnamon and pumpkin spice sachets there to put in the back of the basket, they smell sooooo good and match our fall theme :).

    For deodorant I am going with spray cans only for easier sharing. And leaving out mouthwash since its hard to share without cups – the mini toothbrushes will do the job I think and are singly wrapped. I have those Chapstick packs too and will put a note like “take one” instead of sharing. Can you tell I’m a little germphobic!. lol. Oh and our venue doesn’t have room for a separate sign so I’m making an Amenities one-word sign for each. Happy wedding everyone!!!

  28. Pingback: Wedding Recap: Bathroom Baskets : Laugh.Live.Love.Create

  29. “DIY: Bathroom Baskets | Little Miss Wedding Planner”
    honestly makes me think a little bit more. I actually loved every particular section of this post.

    Thanks for your effort ,Karla

  30. James Norris

    The things you learn as bloom master hanging baskets planners is that life has a lot more meaning than what people think. Thanks for sharing this information.

  31. Cyndi

    I am doing bathroom baskets as well and I had a few more things I added to the girls basket. I added a deoderant sponge (wipes deoderant off of your clothes) and face blotting papers to get rid of the shine.

  32. Denise Humphrey

    Add Band-Aid Friction Block- works great!

  33. J Peterson

    How well did the different supplies go over? Was there anything that didn’t get used, or anything different that you would include if you did it again?

  34. amyc13

    It went over awesome, and I didn’t have anything left. We allowed guests who still remained at the end of the night to take whatever they wanted & then anything left over was dumped if it was used or opened. I didn’t take anything home.

    Litt

  35. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back often!

  36. In fact when someone doesn’t understand then its up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  37. If some one wishes expert view on the topic of blogging and site-building then
    i advise him/her to pay a quick visit this weblog, Keep up the fastidious job.

  38. We are having a primp table at our wedding since it is outside and its a little walk to the bathrooms.. that way they can do somethings there without actually walking away from the venue!

  39. Alyssa

    I used this idea at my wedding, and someone walked off with the whole basket! My mom saw a guest walk out with it, but she assumed that guest was helping us pack up. I had forgot to make a sign for the items, “Use what you need, and just leave the rest
    For it may be useful to some other guest!” I had just assumed guests would have the decency not to walk out with everything.

  40. Using a tripod can be extremely useful for certain different types
    of shots and it provides impression of professionalism nevertheless one massive drawback to which has a tripod
    is having to hold is around with you for hours when you might only
    need it just the summer shots. The circle, plus sign, or brackets in the middle of your viewfinder is
    for focusing and isn’t necessarily for centering the subject. Every studio photographers are guaranteed to be buyers of photography background or photographic backgrounds.

Leave a Reply

