Adding In A Personal Touch

One of the things that I have really been mindful of during the whole wedding planning process has been making sure that our choices really reflect us.  We want people to leave our wedding feeling that, although it was big, it was a very personal reflection of the two of us.  And one of the best ways we’ll be doing that is by jumping on the bandwagon of a trend that has become pretty popular in recent years:  the display of family wedding photos.  However, we’ve decided to put our own little twist into it:

Dress Display Example

Yep—we’ll be displaying our mothers’ wedding dresses along with the family photos!  

I am so excited about this and cannot wait to see how this display turns out.  We’ve been collecting frames similar to size and feel as these:

Family Photo Display Example 2

Family Photo Display Example

I plan to make labels that match our reception paper products, much like the labels in the second photo, so everyone knows whose picture they are looking at.  I will also pin labels on both my mom’s and Dr. Groomy’s mom’s dresses, which will flank either side of a long table holding the photo display. 

I am so excited about this idea.  I’ve already been collecting photos, and this week I will start scanning them in to my computer, printing and framing them.  Stay tuned later in the week for some sneak peeks!

What are you doing to personalize your reception?

*Unfortunately, this the first entry in which I do not have a proper source for these photos.  I clipped them along time ago when I first started this project, and never noted where I got them from.  If you know where these photos are from, please let me know so I can credit them properly!

5 Comments

Filed under Decor

5 responses to “Adding In A Personal Touch

  1. That is a great idea!

  2. That’s going to look so great! 🙂

    We’re personalizing a lot to suit our personalities, starting with a surfboard for our guestbook, and so on 🙂

  3. I love this idea! The dresses are a really nice touch.

  4. Pingback: Family Wedding Photo Sneek Peaks « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  5. Pingback: Mannequins « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a comment