A Gorgeous DIY Gift

The DIY project train rolls on in this neck of the woods! Today, I want to show you a really easy and heartfelt gift you could give to members of your wedding party, your readers, or anyone that has helped you along the way.  This gift would be great for any occasion, really—birthday party, shower hostess thank you, anything!

**If you are one of our readers or my personal attendant, I made these gifts for you!  To keep the surprise, please don’t read any further…THIS MEANS YOU JILL C., JORDAN, SARA & ERIN!**

 

**************

 

**************

 

 

Ok, I think they’re gone now!  This gift was inspired by this post on WeddingbeeYep, I made my own hand-painted wine glasses!

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 073 
The original post writer used a Cricut to make hers, but if you search around on the site, you’ll see lots more examples of hand-painted wine glasses.  Here’s my tutorial!

Start by gathering your supplies.  For this project, you will need:

Wine Glasses – I bought mine at the Dollar Store!  They are great quality and perfect for a project like this.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 051

Acrylic Paint – Any kind of acrylic paint will work…no need to buy special glass paint.
Brushes
Tape

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 052

Next, you’ll want to create and print your design.  I decided to do a monogram on each of the glasses.  I found a font I liked (BlackJack from DaFont.com), blew it up until it was a pretty large size and printed each girl’s monogram.  Cut them out.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 053

Next, position the monograms inside the wine glasses at the spot you’d like them, and tape in place.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 054

Now you’re ready to start painting!  Start by tracing the monogram with your choice of colored acrylic paint.  I used black.  Don’t worry about it if they’re not perfect the first time you paint.  It definitely takes some getting used to, but you can use water to wipe away any mistakes you first make.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 059

Once you have the first coat done, let them dry a bit…then you can remove the monogram from the inside of the glasses and go about painting second, third, or even fourth coats, until you’re satisfied with how they look!  I did four coats total, just to make sure the letters were nice and black.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 061 Now you add your embellishments!  I did burgundy and gold squares as my design, because I knew they would be easy to do.  Get creative!  You could even trace a design element if you wanted to.

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 060 Once they’ve dried a bit, they’re ready for baking!  Place the wine glasses on a cookie sheet and carefully put them into a COLD oven…THEN set your oven to 350*F.  Once the oven dings that it is preheated, set the timer for 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes, turn the oven off, but leave the door closed and let the wine glasses sit 10 minutes more.  After that 10 minutes, open the door and let the wine glasses set there (with oven door open), until they are fully cooled.

Note:  I then used a gold leafing pen to add my gold squares to the design.  There were warnings all over the label about the gold pen that said to avoid heat, and I didn’t want it to wreck the glasses if the gold leaf was heated up…so I added that later. 

Once they’ve cooled, they’re done!  Tie a ribbon on and you’re ready to gift away! (But be sure to remind your friends that they are HAND-WASH ONLY).

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 072 We’ll be giving each of our readers/attendant their personalized wine glass, plus a nice bottle of wine for them to enjoy.  I may also try and find some cute wine charms or a wine bottle opener to go with!

I loved this project—I sort of want one of these for myself, haha!  While it was a bit time-consuming, between the painting, drying & baking (it took me about two days overall to finish these, working maybe 1.5 to 2 hrs at a time), I really love the way they turned out and I think our friends will love the hand-made aspect. This project was inexpensive as well!  I did the whole thing for about $10, including wine glasses and paint. 

What are some your DIY projects you loved?

*All photos by me.  Again, do not use without my express written consent.

13 Comments

Filed under Gifts, How-To

13 responses to “A Gorgeous DIY Gift

  1. Very cute and sounds very easy to do!

    I think it would be fun to do this on some plastic or acrylic tumblers too, maybe with a different paint so it doesn’t come off with water/dishwasher.

  2. Great job! I had painted wine glasses made for my BMs because, well, I’m not crafty like you lol. Mine loved their and I know your BMs will love them, too!!

  3. They’re so cute! Thanks for the tutorial :)

  4. kjpugs

    I cannot believeeee how easy and cute this is!

    PS that is one of my FAVEEE Rieslings!

  5. What a smart idea! I’ve been looking for some ideas for personal attendant gifts, this just might be the way to go!

    Thanks for the idea!

  6. Mom

    You never cease to amaze me Amy! How cute they are. Maybe you should make wine glasses for you and Brad for the reception?

  7. Rosie Turgeau

    Very Cute !!! Will have to try this !!

  8. Jenny

    How cute!!! Would it work if you cut out the letters and taped it on the outside of the glass to use as a stencil? I might try that

  9. Jackie Pfeifer

    How about on an acrylic glass? Can it be baked?

  10. amyc13

    Are you asking about acrylic paint on glass or using a glass made of acrylic? Acrylic paint on glass is what I used…as for using a glass made of acrylic, your guess is as good as mine. I would try Googling.

  11. Jackie

    Thanks, yes I was talking about painting on glass made of acrylic. I’m afraid when baking, it will melt.

  12. amyc13

    Yes, I would just Google it then! I only did this project just this one time and it was acrylic paint on regular ol’ glass. :)

Leave a Reply

