Quick & Easy DIY

Alternatively titled, “What Happens When Amy Becomes Obsessed with Envelopes.”

She makes tipping envelopes!

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 075 
These are the same type of envelopes I used in our rehearsal dinner invitation suite…and I just LOVED that they came in many different colors.  So, I decided to do a quick and easy DIY and make tip envelopes.

I didn’t take pictures of each step because these are just too easy.  Design your design in Microsoft Word.  Print, attach to cardstock with spray adhesive.  Cut cardstock to fit envelopes (or buy pre-cut cardstock, if you want!).  Measure the slits to hold bills or checks (I used a $20 bill for demonstration purposes here).  Cut the slits, and you’re done!

Close-up of the design:

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 076
(The envelope is a melon orange, not pink like it looks in the photo!)

I made six of these, two of each color combination.  We’ll be using them to distribute tips to various vendors on the wedding day!

And here’s a new photo favorite of Dr. Groomy and I, at German Fest on the lakefront here in Milwaukee a few weeks ago:

GermanFest & Wedding DIY 002 
What are some quick and easy DIY projects you’ve done?

*All photos by me.  Once again, do not use without my express written consent.

22 Comments

Filed under How-To, Stationery

22 responses to “Quick & Easy DIY

  1. Great job! So easy and creative :) I will for sure be using this idea.. thanks for the inspirationg girlie! :)

  2. Cute envelopes and adorable pic of you and Dr. Groomy!

  3. These are adorable and YOU are adorable!! Love the pigtails!

  4. kjpugs

    I love this idea!!!! Mad talent, yo!!!!!

  5. I saw your post on HTP the other day and wanted to add you to my blog roll (I love wedding blogs), but couldn’t find it again. Glad you showed up on the Budget Bride’s blog!

    I look forward to reading more!

    Those envelopes are super cute and sounds very practical.

  6. Pingback: DIY Tip Envelopes « Classic Puppy Love

  7. Pingback: Tipping 101 « David Tutera Wedding Blog • It’s a Bride’s Life • Real Brides Blogging til I do!

  8. Nicole

    super cute idea but check your grammar!!! should read….”Your hard work and dedication ARE truly appreciated.”

  9. amyc13

    Ack, you’re right! I hate making grammar mistakes like that!

    Litt

  10. Krista Anderson

    How long are the envelopes?

  11. amyc13

    They are standard business size!

    Litt

  12. Allison

    what fonts did you use??

  13. amyc13

    The font for the “Thank You” section was one I found for free on either dafont.com or Fonts for Peas (google Fonts for Peas and there are TONS of amazing free handwriting fonts!). Unfortunately, I don’t know the name of it anymore. The other font is Arial Narrow in bold.

  14. Allison

    These are so cute! I am so going to copy you! Question – how much did you tip your vendors? Was it 20%? I am not sure what the custom is. Thanks!

  15. amyc13

    Honestly, it depends! Some of our vendors had a minimum gratuity built in to their contracts, and others I just tipped what I thought was appropriate. I seem to remember reading an article or two on the internet about what was appropriate, so maybe you could look on some wedding forums? I think 20% sounds good, for what it’s worth. Hope that helps!

    Litt

  16. How big are the envelopes and where did you find them that open on the end and not at the toP?

  17. amyc13

    They’re business size and I found them at Broadway Paper! http://www.broadwaypaper.com

  18. I looked for them there but can’t find them. :( I really like the idea tho! :) You are so creative! :)

  19. amyc13

    I just looked myself and it looks like they don’t carry them anymore, but I did find some at Paper Source. Here’s the link for you! http://www.paper-source.com/cgi-bin/paper/color/10-envelopes/2506.001/110.html Hope that helps! :)

  20. Cassie

    Where had you gotten the colored card stock and envelopes? Staples should carry yes? I love this idea and Ill def be organized doing it this way

  21. amyc13

    See my above comments in blue for where I bought the cardstock and envelopes. I am not sure if Staples carries cardstock or not; I would look at JoAnn’s or Michaels instead because they will likely have a better selection than an office supply store would.

Leave a Reply

