More Miscellany

Another round up of projects completed!  First up, our card box:

More Wedding 027

This was super easy to make.  It did take a little time, but I am happy with the way it turned out.  Unfortunately, I am a bad blogger who didn’t take any pictures of the process, but here’s a quick run-down.

DIY Cardbox
Materials needed:

3 boxes of different sizes—I bought plain cardboard boxes with removable tops from Michaels (found near the papier mache type stuff!), but you could really use anything you’ve got around the house 
Wrapping paper of various colors—try to keep a cohesive scheme, unless you’re not going for cohesive-ness, then by all means have at it!
Double sided tape
Glue gun
Ribbon
Bows
Scissors
Cut-out letters (I bought some sparkly ones at Michael’s but you could make these, as well)

Begin by deciding the placement of your boxes.  Once you’ve done that, you will need to cut a large hole in the TOP of the bottom box and the BOTTOM of the middle box.  This is so that you have lots of room for cards to be put in the box.  You’ll also need to cut a slot for cards in the middle box.  I made a pretty wide slot to account for the wide range of cards—I know our cardbox will be well watched, so I am not worried about anyone sticking their hands in there to grab out cards (plus, I trust our guests.).  Next, wrap your individual boxes in the wrapping paper, using double sided tape so you don’t have any tape lines.  Then, using a glue gun, glue the boxes together.  Add some ribbon trim around any rough edges of wrapping (if you use boxes similar to mine, trust me, you’ll have them!).  Glue your letters on in a design you like, add some ribbon and a bow on top, and voila!  A cardbox! 

Next up, our guest book.  We went back and forth for a really long time as to what to do for a guest book, but finally decided on using a signature frame.  This seems to be really popular at weddings lately (we have gone to two weddings where this was used), but we really liked the idea.   Anyone who knows me knows that while I love design, home shows, and decorating…I feel I am kind of not good at it.  The decor of our house is something I will definitely be working on post wedding, and we thought a signature frame was a great way to add some fun artwork to our walls.  Here it is:

Wedding 008

I also made a little sign to go next to it:

Wedding 010 
It says:

In lieu of a traditional guest book, please sign this signature frame.  We plan to display the artwork in our home, so that we have a constant reminder of the love and friendship you have shared by celebrating with us today.  Thank you for sharing our special day!

All that’s left to do is put out a little glass vase with some pens to go with it!  Here’s the photo we used—I like it because it’s a bit more artsy-fartsy than just a regular photo of the two of us:

A&B

And lastly:  I promised all of you a look at what our family photo table/wedding dress display will look like.  Of all the projects I’ve done, I think I love this one the most.  I think it will have a huge impact at our wedding and I am really proud of it.  Here it is:

Wedding 001 Wedding 002

I had to show it as two different pictures because the display is so large.  We have over 25 photos from various family weddings and seriously?  I can’t tell you what the impact even is when you look at all of them.  It is amazing and I am so, so happy to have this at our wedding.  Here’s some close-ups:

Wedding 003
My mother-in-law’s dress

Wedding 004
My mom’s dress

Wedding 005

Wedding 006

Wedding 007

I am so, so happy with the way this turned out.  It was a lot of work and, let’s face it, a total pain in the ass sometimes, but now that it’s all together and completed, I am so glad we decided to do it.  Yay!

I’ve been feeling under the weather lately but I’m still trying my best to knock out tons of projects.  This weekend should be HUGE in terms of getting stuff done.  With any luck, I will have most everything completed!  I can’t wait to have the next two weeks to relax, do lots of yoga, and deal with any last minute things that come up. 

What are some of your favorite projects from your wedding?

6 Comments

Filed under Decor, How-To

6 responses to “More Miscellany

  1. I love all of your projects. You’re doing a great job :)

  2. Jen

    Wow that is quite a table of pictures! I love that and think it’s SO special! If my mom was married I totally would have done one of those tables!

  3. kjpugs

    Wow. That work REALLY paid off. I can’t believe how cool it looks when it’s all together!!! The card box is really chic looking, and I LOVE the look of the square frame for your guestbook. Great details!

  4. I love your pictures and dress display. I particularly love that you gave everyone/thing a name tag. I didn’t do that and I think it’s so nice that you did.

  5. Wonderful job on your projects. I like your card box and the photo and dress display is amazing. I am sure everyone will love it.

  6. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Cocktail Hour | Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

