My Best Friend’s Wedding: Shower, Part One

Thus begins a new series here on Little Miss Wedding Planner:  My Best Friend’s Wedding!

My BFF Michelle is getting married this year (whoop, whoop!) and I am her maid matron of honor.  So, you’ll be getting a behind the scenes sneak peek at my life as a bridesmaid.  First up, planning her shower!

[Note:  Michelle, on the off chance you are reading this post, please stop now.  I want there to be a few surprises for you!]

We decided to go with a “Bee” theme because that’s Michelle’s nickname. In fact, I don’t even call her Michelle, so from here on in, she’ll be known as B.  It all started back when I first met her.  Her little sister, Emily, was only three at the time, and she couldn’t say “Michelle.”  She always called her “Bichelle.”  It caught on with some of our friends, and from there it spiraled from Bichelle to B-chelle (emphasizing the B part), and then just to B.  Now we call her Beezus or B and I can’t imagine calling her anything else!

Anyways, back to the shower.  The bridesmaids and I plus B’s mom and future mother-in-law are all planning it. As I’ve said, we decided to go with a “bee” theme to commemorate her nickname.  I sent the invitations out this week and thought you might like to see how they turned out!

031

I designed everything in Word using fonts from Dafont.com, then printed them out on regular computer paper.

032

Then I backed them all in black cardstock, popped them in envelopes, and away they went!

033

B’s mother-in-law had suggested having each guest bring their favorite spice for B. We thought it was a great idea!  I am planning to put together a cute basket for all of the guests to drop their spices in so she can easily take them all home with her.

Address label front:

003

And back:

034

I used double-sided tape to attach these labels and so far, no problems from the post office that I’ve heard of.

I also designed some labels for the food table at the shower that will match the invites, plus a few other surprises to tie everything together. I can’t wait to show you how it all turns out!

Have you ever planned a shower?  Share some tips and ideas in the comments!

16 Comments

Filed under Shower, Stationery

16 responses to “My Best Friend’s Wedding: Shower, Part One

  1. kayduh

    I love the fonts you used. Can you share the names of them? I am working on my save the dates and spent hours looking at ugly fonts last night!

  2. amyc13

    Hi! The script-like font is called Champagne, and the other font is called Echelon, both from DaFont.com. Another one of my favorite sites for fonts is called Fonts for Peas, I don’t know if you’ve looked there? They have mostly handwriting fonts but a lot of them are really cool–and they’re free to download! The site is http://kevinandamanda.com/fonts/fontsforpeas/

    Hope that helps! 🙂

  3. These are super cute — great job! And the spice idea is a great one — we got a bunch of Penzey’s spices for a wedding gift and I use them all the time.

  4. The invites came out great! I especially love the wraparound labels. That’s awesome that you get to do fun wedding stuff for your BFF. My BFF (and matron of honor in my wedding) got married just a couple of months before me.

  5. Such a cute invitation suite, you did such a great job! Love the theme too! She’s going to love how much thought you put into everything! Looking forward to seeing more.
    p.s. My shower is next weekend and I’m SO excited! 🙂

  6. Ali

    Nice! You should ask B about your wedding shower planning…you’re a good friend. Just sayin’.

  7. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Wedding: Shower, Part Two | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  8. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Wedding: Shower, Part 3 | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  9. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Wedding: Baseball Game Bachelorette Party | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  10. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Wedding: Bachelorette Party Gift Bags | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  11. Pingback: My Best Friend’s Wedding: Finally, The Bachelorette Party! | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  12. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your web
    site in my social networks!

  13. I visited several web sites but the audio feature for audio songs
    present at this website is genuinely wonderful.

  14. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d
    truly appreciate it.

  15. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so
    I came to look it over. I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Superb blog and superb design and style.

  16. Asking questions are really pleasant thing if you are not understanding anything totally, except this article offers
    pleasant understanding even.

Leave a comment