On Being Bridezilla

Bridezillas_smallSource: cricketsdrivel.wordpress.com

Saturday, I went to a friend’s house to celebrate her birthday with some pizza, some wine, and some good ol’ fashioned girl time.  Our other close girlfriends joined us and we had a blast…however, one thing totally bothered me.  My good friend J decided that my nickname until the wedding should be Bridezilla!  Another friend said that although I am not one yet, she thinks I will be.

Let me preface this by saying that I had brought along the latest edition of Brides magazine to flip through while we were bumming around and watching movies (He’s Just Not That Into You…if you haven’t seen it yet, go get it.  TOTALLY cute and fun movie).  I had the mag laying on the coffee table and I went to put it away in my bag (not going to be flipping while we’re socializing!)…and J made the comment about my new nickname being Bridezilla.

Now, she has since told me she was kidding and I know she was trying to be lighthearted, but it really made me salty and I was definitely hurt by it.  I am really, really, really aware of bridezilla-ish tendencies and I try DESPERATELY to avoid them at all costs.  As far as my best girlfriends go, none of them have even seen anything even REMOTELY bridezilla-ish from me.  We haven’t even discussed anything except, “Will you be involved with my wedding?”  I haven’t asked them to help with any projects, I haven’t really vented to any of them about the stresses or pleasures of planning a wedding (unless they’ve asked)…nothing.  I am really aware that their lives don’t revolve around my wedding–I’m the only one in the group so far that is getting married–and it really bothers me that I have done nothing to show that I would even remotely become a bridezilla and yet they think I will be.

I don’t really know what the moral to this blog entry is, except to say that I was really bothered by their comments and I will be even more aware of it now.  It does make me feel like I shouldn’t ask them for help because they will just think I am a bridezilla if I do.   I guess it’s a good thing they said that, because now I am even more determined to prove them wrong.

2 Comments

Filed under Random

2 responses to “On Being Bridezilla

  1. rhodeygirltests

    oh this makes me so mad! next time she says it tell her that as long as your name is bridezilla her nickname will be PRINCESS for the little princess she is.

    you haven’t even DONE anything to be called that!!! all for speculation of how you MIGHT be? tell her to suck an egg!

  2. Pingback: Why I Blog « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

