Our Color Palette

Originally, our color palette was going to be black, white, and bright green.  We knew we were having a formal event, and I completely fell in love with these apple favors.   What a perfect color combo!  Alas, it was not meant to be, for several reasons…amongst others, I feared it would clash with our venue and I was just sort of SICK of green after awhile.  As soon as we picked that color combo, I felt like everyone had picked that color combo…it was suddenly everywhere!  (I imagine this is how the damask brides felt a few years ago when damask was really hot.  It still is, obviously, but you get what I mean).

So, the quest for a perfect color combo ensued.  Something formal, that would go with the venue, and something that felt a little more…us.  Flipping through bridal magazines led me to this:

Color Scheme

(Image ripped and scanned from one of my Brides magazines)

SWOON.  I was instantly in love.  It was so perfect, so unexpected…so US!  Red is my favorite color and I KNEW Dr. Groomy would love the gold ties.  I was sold.  We discussed, we decided…this is it!  Our colors will be black, champagne gold and a deep red.  With that in mind, I created this inspiration board:

Red & Gold

Images from Lisa Lefkowitz, Corbin Gurkin Photography, Atrendy Wedding, Adeline and Grace Photography, Orchard Cove Photography, Sedona Bride

I am THRILLED that our wedding colors have gone in this direction.  I feel like I can do so much more with this color palette and it is really going to look fab with our venue  (And hello, those Stewart Weitzman’s in the inspiration board up there are TOTALLY on my own shopping list!)

How did you arrive at your color palette?  Did you know immediately or did you change your mind like we did?

11 Comments

Filed under Colors

11 responses to “Our Color Palette

  1. Em

    Aww no longer color twins!! I’m hoping by May 2010 people will think it’s “new!” and “fresh!” and “oh-so-modern!” I love your new colors, though!! And those shoes? I. Die.

  2. Ali

    ^ lol

    BOSSY!!! Super pumped.

  3. rhodeygirltests

    Amy this palette is just so perfect. I LOVE it.

  4. Nadine

    bold, elegant and classy! YAY!

  5. Pingback: Planning a Cohesive Event «

  6. Pingback: On Staying Organized «

  7. Pingback: Bridesmaid Dress-A-Palooza! « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  8. Pingback: Flower Power: Centerpieces « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  9. Pingback: A Dress for My Girls « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  10. Pingback: A “Taste” of Our Wedding « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  11. Pingback: A Dress for My Little Lady (Take One) « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

