Dress Shopping: Who to Take and Why

Well, I’ve found another dress designer who’s after my heart!  Unfortunately, she’s couture, which means her gowns are ridiculously, menacingly out of my poor little dress budget’s reach…but that doesn’t mean I can’t ooh and aah  and try to find a knock-off, right?!

Ladies, meet the gowns of Romona Keveza.  Ramona, meet Little Miss Wedding Planner’s blog world!

RK1      RK2 

RK3     RK4
(Source)

So lovely, so simple, yet so luxurious and elegant.  I love all of these designs, but I especially love love love the one on the bottom right.  GORGEOUS.

However lovely, this post actually isn’t about Ramona’s dresses.  This post is about who to take gown shopping and why.

I have always been one of those people who, when picking an important outfit or dress, have been able to try something on and know it was the one.  First business suit?  Bang, I knew it as soon as I put it on.  Prom dress?  Bang, I knew it as soon as I put it on.  Bridesmaid Dress for my cousin’s wedding?  Same thing.  I have no doubts that it will be the same thing for my wedding gown—as soon as I put it on, I’ll know. 

I am lucky.  I have a loving and supportive family and a group of intelligent, wonderful, and supportive women as my friends.  I want to experience dress shopping with all of them—ideally, a trip with my mother, my mother-in-law, and my sister, and another trip with my go-to-gals (aka bridesmaids).  What’s a girl to do?  I’m afraid that if I go with my friends first, I will find a dress I love and then my mom will lose out on that experience.  At the same time, if I don’t go with my friends and I find a dress with my mom instead, they’ll lose out on the experience too.  A simple solution would be to take them all at once, but that’s too many people and I know I would get too overwhelmed with that—I’m not the best high-stress shopper, anyway.  And at the end of it all, this whole thing could be moot anyway—maybe I won’t find a dress right away, regardless!

So, kids, enlighten me:  what was your dress shopping experience like?  Who did you take and why?  Advice, please! 

8 Comments

Filed under Dress & Attire

8 responses to “Dress Shopping: Who to Take and Why

  1. Kristin

    doll face,

    i will absolutely not be offended if you shop with mom and crew first and find “the one” without my help. we’ll always have bridesmaid dress shopping, and i’ll still love you! let’s hit up another bridal show soon though, so i can stalk the j invites guy…that was major fun.

    p.s. i can’t wait to see you in your perfect dress!

    love you,

    kdoc (bridesmaidzilla)

  2. Ali

    As much as it is important to have your bridesmaids there- my vote goes to the mothers. They don’t get to do a lot of wedding stuff with you, so I think this might be there one important “thing”….just a thought. And I agree with Kdoc 🙂

  3. I’d go with the mothers as well. My mom hasn’t been able to do a lot of wedding stuff with me, but it meant so much to her to do the dress shopping. I don’t think your friends with be offended and I think the moms will really appreciate it.

  4. Nadine

    I was with my Mom & the bridesmaids, and it turned out to be a blessing, since I found “the dress” the first time out. Of course, I still felt the need to “shop” a bit more, but you’re right, you’ll just “know”

  5. Roxanne

    I would go with the mother! You have no idea how upset a mother can get if you find “the dress” without her…they are strange that way. LOL. Have a great time shopping for your perfect dress, your going to look amazing!

  6. Mom

    Hi Amy,
    Mom here. I went shopping with my Mom and sister and found my dress the first day. It was the first dress I tried on. However, most people are not that lucky. We definitley will dress shop, you, me, Ali and Brad’s Mom, but remember the miles we all have to come to Milwaukee. So if you shop with your friends and find the right dress it is OKAY. I for one will not be hurt. I just want you to have the right dress.
    And of course, you have to shop with me for my dress and that could be pure he*l !!
    Love you.

  7. Liz

    You could always split the love? Dress shop with the moms & family but when you have to go to try on the dress after being altered and fitted, bring the bridesmaids so they still get a “first look” before the wedding itself. It will still be just as special because it’s YOUR dress, not a sample that may not fit quite right. Then everyone gets a sneak peak of what’s to come on wedding day.

  8. Pingback: Bridesmaid Dress-A-Palooza! « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

