We Have A Winner!

…in the aisle pomander department, that is! 

014 Lovely, no? 

If you’ll remember, I made these a while back:Pomander

While I liked them, they weren’t exactly giving off the look I really wanted, and they were A LOT of work.  I bookmarked lots of inspiration for pomanders, but once I saw these:

Ribbon (Source)

…I knew I had to make them!

I basically followed this tutorial to a tee, but here’s the picture evidence of mine:

Step 1:  Gather your supplies.

For this project, you will need:
* ribbon, various sizes and colors, to match your color scheme
* 5” styrofoam ball
* stick pins
* scissors to cut the ribbon
* decorative ribbon or string from which to hang your pomander ball.  This tutorial used string, I like the look of ribbon better so I used that.  It’s your preference, really!

002

Step 2:  Cut your ribbon into 4” strips.

003
I found it easiest to cut a bazillion 4” strips at once, rather than a few at a time.  When you’re done cutting, you’ll have piles that look like this:

004

Set those piles aside for now and move on to step three.

Step 3:  Prepare your Styrofoam ball.
Just as I did for those other pomanders, I used a screwdriver to drive a hole through the Styrofoam ball.  Thread your ribbon through, and tie a nice knot at the end.  I also hot-glued the not to the ball, to ensure that my ribbon wouldn’t slide through when hanging there.  HOT TIP:  Burn the edges of your hanging ribbon with a lighter so the ends don’t fray!  It works great!

005

006(Yes, those are the Olympics on in the background.  I LOVE THEM!) 

Step 4:  Start pinning!
Grab your ribbons and start pinning them on.  I used two pins per ribbon, just as the tutorial suggested.   Make a loop with the ribbon, pin on the ball, repeat.  Tedious, but perfect to do in front of the TV!

007

 008 Once you have your pomander filled with ribbons and as full as you like it, you’ll have something like this:

014Tada!  Now repeat for as many as you’d like!

I think they’ll look lovely hanging off the aisle chairs:
017  I am thrilled with how they turned out.  I’ll be making ten of them, five for each side of the aisle.  They will go every third chair, for just the right amount of color for the ceremony! 

Are you DIY-ing any of your decor?

*All pictures by me unless otherwise noted.

8 Comments

Filed under Decor, How-To

8 responses to “We Have A Winner!

  1. Great idea! Thanks for the tutorial 🙂

  2. So fun to see how these cute pomanders are done!!

  3. Bee

    I think this is so cute! Great job and thanks for posting the tutorial. 🙂

  4. Em

    These look great!! If we had a place to use these, I might actually try making them. Alas…we do not. I can’t wait to see them in action!

  5. Pingback: Shower & Bachelorette Extravaganza, Part One « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  6. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Pre-Ceremony | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. Allison

    Oh, I wish I never saw these!! lol! I’ve made mine (you are right, they were a ton of work!!) and they look exactly like your “before” photos! The ones you made look so much more elegant, I may have to re-do mine too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

