Accessorizing

Dr. Groomy:  STAY AWAY FROM THIS POST!

This past weekend, while bridesmaid dress shopping with my girls, I got another fun activity crossed off my list:  I bought a veil!

If you’ll remember, when I first purchased my dress, I originally thought I wanted a cathedral length veil.  When I got to the store on Saturday and was able to put on the sample of my gown, I tried on several cathedral length veils, and the look was just…so so.  I suddenly felt like I was being taken over by the veil, rather than complemented by it.  So, we switched gears, and I ended up with a beautiful fingertip length veil that perfectly matched my dress:

011 It looks very brown and dark in this picture, but it’s actually a very sheer, light gold.  Once it’s on with my dress, it looks totally gorgeous!

In case you don’t know what “fingertip” length means, here’s a handy dandy little chart I found:

Veil Lengths(Source)

And here are some pictures of me wearing it (I apologize for the lack of quality—I am terrible at taking “selfies!”):

008

009  So pretty!  I love it!

I also received my hair flower this weekend!  A while back, I contacted the lovely Kate at The Redheaded Actress (also known as the fabulous Mrs. Star!) to see if she could do a custom hair piece for my wedding. 

As you know, I wanted to wear pearls on my wedding day.  Although I love my dress, it has so much extravagant lace and rhinestone beading that wearing pearls really just won’t…go.  I knew I wanted to incorporate pearls into my wedding day somehow, though, so what better way to do so than with a hair flower?  Working with Kate, we settled on a design we both thought would work well.  I anxiously waited for the package to arrive, and on Monday, it finally did!

I opened up the box to reveal this lovely little package:

001

And when I opened it up, I saw this:
004

Hooray!  It’s gorgeous, isn’t it?  The lace matches the scalloping on the edge of my dress, the flower is gorgeous, and it has pearls in the center.  I love it!  Here is a shot of me wearing it:
005

And here’s a shot with my veil.  I think they look great together!

012So, my head accessories are complete.  Another item checked off the list!

Are you wearing a veil or hair flower?

*All photos by me unless otherwise noted!

3 Comments

Filed under Dress & Attire, Hair & Makeup

3 responses to “Accessorizing

  1. Very nice! I love the veil and flower together!

  2. I love how the center pearls match your veil perfectly! Gorgeous veil, I’m so glad you love your flower!

  3. Pingback: Hair Flower, Revisited « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

