DIY: Don’t Cry! But If You Do, Use These!

This DIY project actually came to me as I was working on our bathroom baskets.  I had purchased a package of eight tissue packs when I was buying supplies for the baskets, with the intention that I would slip a few of them in with the other toiletries.  While I was working on them, though, I suddenly remembered seeing some cute ideas for personalized tissue packets…and I knew I could definitely make my own version with my newly bought Xyron!

I started out by creating a template in Microsoft Word.  It was easy peasy—I  just measured the top and sides of the tissue packets and created some text boxes in those sizes.  I decided to print “For Your Tears of Joy” on one side, and our monogram and wedding date on the other side.  Then I played around with the the colors and fills on the sides until I had a design I was happy with:

Wedding DIY 018

The next step was trimming each one down to size.  I also recently purchased this trimmer tool from Cricut.  Although it doesn’t work as great as my office’s old school industrial-sized paper cutter (man that thing is a dream!), it does work well for at-home projects.
Wedding DIY 019

And then I ran the trimmed pieces through the Xyron.
Wedding DIY 020

Burnished my edges:
Wedding DIY 024

And voila!  A sticker!
Wedding DIY 021

The next step was to adhere them to the tissue packages.  I found it easiest to start by placing one of the sides, and then wrapping from there.  Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture of this, but it’s pretty much a trial and error thing.  One thing to note:  these will not be perfect.  Get over it now—when you’re dealing with a sticker, it’s hard to get them exactly right every time.  When you do them multiple times, you get pretty good at sticking them, but the first few times they’re not always even.  I figure, though, for as long as people are looking at or using them, they are cute and serve their purpose well, even if the edges aren’t exact.

When you’re all done, you’ll have a nicely wrapped tissue packet that looks like this:

Wedding DIY 022
Front

Wedding DIY 023
Back

And soon, you’ll have a stack of them!
Wedding DIY 025

I plan to display these in another basket (same kind as the bathroom baskets) at the church.  We’ll have one of our ushers offer them to guests as they are seated.  I have a feeling not too many people will use them, so I am only going to make about 25-30 or so.  If they don’t all get used up, I know I will use them! 

So, you wanna make your own?  Lucky for you, I made a template which you can access here.  The font used was Chopin Script, which can be downloaded for free from dafont.com if you don’t have it on your computer.  Another tip?  I bought my tissue packages at the Dollar Store.  They came 8 to a package, which means I’ll only have to spend around $4.00 to get the amount I want.  Score!

What fun DIY projects have you created on a whim?

2 Comments

Filed under How-To, Xyron

2 responses to “DIY: Don’t Cry! But If You Do, Use These!

  1. Em

    I made something similar! I’ll blog about them soon. Yours look great!

  2. Those look fantastic! I just found your blog via the DIY Bridal Files. I would love to link to some of yoru projects if you didn’t mind.

Leave a Reply

