Registry Conundrum

This morning, I tweeted this:

Tweet 
Has anyone else felt this way?  I feel like the whole registry process is really overwhelming—fun, definitely!—but overwhelming for sure.  There’s so many things to decide:  Where to register, whether to register at more than one place, what to register for where…and then there’s the logistical things to think about as well:  Are these stores easily accessible to guests?  Do we have enough varying price points on our registry?  Do we really need that, and more importantly, do we even have the room?

Thankfully, so many great blog friends tweeted back at me, DMed me, and even emailed to give me advice.  Thank you!  It’s been decided:  we will likely register at two places, registering for many of the same items at both, and then I will just watch the registries like a hawk and pull items from one when they’ve been fulfilled on the other.  A lot of work, yes, but a lot of fun also! 

Dr. Groomy and I have pretty much narrowed down where we going to register, but we still have a few decisions to make.  We do know, though, that one of the places we register will be:

 

C&B Logo
(Source)

C&B
(Source – This is the actual store here in Milwaukee)

…aka my homeland, my mother-ship, my little piece of heaven on earth. I LOVE THIS STORE.  I knew, without question, we would register here.  They have great items and fresh decor and offer a wide range of price points, from affordable to expensive.  They also offer a completion program, thank you manager, and have good return polices.  You can see all of their registry policies here

But where else?  Crate and Barrel, while lovely and fabulous, doesn’t have 5 bajillion locations all over the United States, making them easily accessible for our guests.  They have a great online store, but we also want to accommodate those guests who like to see and touch what they’re purchasing (I am much the same way).  We’ve narrowed it down to two other options.  They are:

 

BB&B Logo
(Source)

Clearly, a top choice for brides around the country.  They have a ton of locations all over the U.S., and they’re quite affordable.  On top of that, they offer great incentive programs, easy return policies, and great selection.  You can see all of their registry policies here

Option two? 

BT Logo
(Source)

Don’t recognize it?  This may help:

BS Logo
(Source)

Bon-Ton is the parent company for stores such as Boston Store, Bergner’s, Younkers, Carson Pirie Scott, Elder-Beerman and Herberger’s.  They have over 230 stores spanning 23 states, and when we register at our local Boston Store, our registry can be accessed at any one of the Bon-Ton stores.  Pretty sweet!  They also offer a completion program, easy returns, and a cash back reward program.  You can see all of their registry policies here

Honestly, I think it will come down to our decision regarding china and linens.  I am not sure yet if we will register for fine china.  I think I’d like a set some day, but I am not sure that now is really the time (because a) we don’t have the room, and b) we wouldn’t really use it at this point in our lives).  I know we want to order new sheets, towels, and other linens, but I am not sure about the selection at either Bed Bath and Beyond or Boston Store.  Sounds like a “research” shopping trip is definitely needed!  :)  Stay tuned for more of our adventures in registering!

Where did you register and why?  Were you as confused by the process as I was?

4 Comments

Filed under Registry

4 responses to “Registry Conundrum

  1. Em

    Glad I could help ya out, friend! And good luck when you go…it sounds much worse than it actually is (although it is kind of stressful, I won’t lie.)

  2. Jen

    i totally feel your overwhelmingness, if that’s even a word. i was at my wits end when i read this article on the blog practically ever after:
    http://practicallyeverafter.com/2010/02/25/a-more-honest-way-to-fill-a-wedding-registry-with-cash/

    we’ve since signed-up with deposit a gift and it’s changed the whole experience for us. good luck!

  3. I’m glad it was helpful! It’s stressful, but so worth it once you start getting the stuff you registered for! 🙂

  4. Margaret

    There’s no need to make so much work for yourself! Why don’t you just use an online registry site (myregistry.com is a good one) where you can add things from any store you want onto one registry list. That way you don’t have to watch your registries like a hawk to avoid duplicates and you won’t have to pick just 2 stores when it sounds like there’s things you would like from at least 3. I did this for my wedding and it made it much easier both on me and my guests (because they only have to go one place to find your registry).

Leave a Reply

