Hair Flower, Revisited

**Dr. Groomy:  There are discussions of my dress and accessories in this entry.  DO NOT READ!  Thanks!**

Confession:  I’m having second thoughts about my hair flower. 

If you’ll remember, it looks like this:

003 
While I do really love it, I am starting to feel that it just doesn’t really go with the my dress as well as I had hoped.  I always envisioned wearing a hair flower for the reception, but suddenly, I am drawn to images like these:

Hair2 
(Source)

Hair3
(Source)

Hair4
(Source)

Notice a common denominator?  They’re wearing hair jewelry, not hair flowers.  Because of the rhinestones and beading on my dress, I feel like this might be a better way for me to go.  

I do still love the look of hair flowers though.  A few more inspiration ideas I’ve clipped?

Hair1
(Source)

Hair Idea
(Source)

So, gals, thoughts and opinions please!  The lace on my dress is going to be really hard to match, so I think finding a piece of hair jewelry might work better and be able to match easier (hello, rhinestones match rhinestones, right?!).  I am not at all a fan of tiaras, so I won’t be going that route, but I do think I’d like to find a lovely vintage-inspired hair piece to go with my dress.   I will be scoping the bridal store, jewelry departments at major retailers, Goodwill, and my mom’s jewelry box for the perfect piece!   Although I loved the idea of wearing pearls and was hoping to incorporate them on my wedding day, I think it’s time to let that idea go in favor of something a bit more blingy.  Who woulda thunk it?!

Are you wearing a hair flower or jewelry?  If so, where did you get it?

4 Comments

Filed under Hair & Makeup

4 responses to “Hair Flower, Revisited

  1. You should wear whatever makes you happy, but, for the record, I think that is one of the prettiest hair flowers I’ve seen.

  2. I am a big fan of a little wedding day hair bling ~ Something vintage inspired would be totally awesome!

  3. Jill

    I love your flower, but I totally understand wanting to match the rhinestones in your dress. Because I am wearing pearls and hair jewelry, I am on the hunt right now for some vintage hair combs that combine pearls and rhinestones. There are a million to look at on Etsy and a lot of them come in gold which would look great with your dress! Let me know if you find another good place to look! Good luck!

  4. Pingback: Hair & Makeup Inspiration « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

