Fitness Fridays

I recently signed up for a year’s worth of personal training sessions at my gym.  Frankly, I wasn’t feeling happy with how I felt or looked, and I always have a hard time pushing myself.  Yes, I ran a marathon, but it seems that in handling a  day-to-day fitness & health routine, I sort of mail it in.

A bit of background on my health & fitness history:  I have always been thin, but lately, I have gotten a bit pudgy around the edges.  My arms, abs, and thighs have seen the worst of it, and I definitely don’t want to look back on my wedding day pictures and wish I had done a little extra to take care of myself.   Back in February of 2008, I joined a weight loss site called Calorie King.

CK(Source)

There, I logged my food and exercise and blogged daily about my feelings on my weight, health, and life in general.  Calorie King is actually what got me started on blogging…and I still blog there daily. I quickly lost 10 pounds and felt great.  Around this time, I also took up interest in distance running, which led to participating in several 5Ks, a half marathon, and eventually the marathon I ran last fall.   I have made many wonderful friends on Calorie King (several of whom read this blog), and have even met some of them in real life.  I cannot tell you how much I love the community, the ideals and the science behind the Calorie King website. 

Recently, though, I’ve fallen a bit off the wagon; hence my want for personal training sessions.  Are they expensive?  Yes.  Are they worth it to me?  Yes.  Why?  Because it’s not about getting toned for the wedding, it’s finally about getting to a healthy weight and shape to maintain for the rest of my life.  Combined with regular cardio, my personal training sessions, and logging my food on the Calorie King website, I finally feel like I am back on the right track to health and fitness.

 Buff Bride
(Source)

So, now that you have the background, I thought I’d introduce Fitness Fridays once a month here on the blog.  Every month, during the week that I weigh in, take my measurements and fitness tests, I will post my results for you here…sort of a really public form of motivation, I guess!

Here’s my starting stats:

General:
Height:  5’3” (this obviously won’t change!)
Weight: 141
Body Fat Percentage: 33.4%

All of the following measurements are in inches:
Neck: 12.5
Chest: 35.5
Shoulders: 40
Waist: 30.5
Hips: 40
Biceps: 11.5 (evenly matched on both sides)
Thighs: 21 (evenly matched on both sides)
Calves: 13.5 (evenly matched on both sides)

Fitness Tests:
Upper Body Strength: 40lbs is my 1 rep max
Lower Body Strength: 230lbs is my 1 rep max (Thank you, Marathon training!)
Flexibility: 0" (This is piss poor for being a dance teacher. I will say that I was not warmed up at all and their flexibility test is weird. You stand on a step and bend over, and they measure how far from the top of the step your fingertips extend. I could touch my toes but not extend beyond, so that’s why I got 0. Sort of dumb, right?!)
Muscular Endurance: Sit-Ups 27 in one minute, Push-ups 25 in one minute

I have had three training sessions so far and I LOVE IT.  It’s torture…but I somehow manage to look forward to it?  Yeah, I don’t get it either.

Are you doing a shape-up for your wedding and beyond?  Share your motivational tips and tricks in the comments!

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness

2 responses to “Fitness Fridays

  1. Pingback: Random Ramblings « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  2. Pingback: Fitness Friday « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

