Share Some Advice, Hey?

If that title doesn’t sound like  a Wisconsin accent, I don’t know what does!  Haha!

First off, great feedback on my last post regarding guest list/save-the-date issues.  It’s nice to know we’re not alone in dealing with this type of thing.  It seems everyone has drama at some point or another, so it’s great to be able to discuss it openly!  Today, though, let’s discuss something a little bit more fun.

I am not sure where I read about this next idea, but the minute I read it, I flagged it as something I wanted to do at our rehearsal dinner:

“My MOH brought all the accoutrements for what was a brilliant idea: she had everyone take a piece of paper, a pen, and an envelope, and write a major life milestone on the envelope (i.e. the day you get back from your honeymoon or when you have your first big fight or the day your first child is born) and then write us a message for when that time came. It was a really sweet idea and I was so touched that she orchestrated the whole thing. We’ve already opened a few and they have been so thoughtful and have contained such fabulous advice.”

What better place than a gathering of our close family and friends to ask for advice and messages on our major life milestones?!  I immediately sent this idea to my maid of honor and one of my bridesmaids with the message, “Remember this, I want to do it at our rehearsal dinner!  One of you remind me!” 

My MOH, otherwise known as my fabulous sister, Ali, did remind me of this this morning, since I have been working so diligently on the details for our rehearsal dinner.  I’m thinking I’ll get envelopes and card stock to match our rehearsal dinner invitation suite, and provide everyone with a pen and piece of cardstock that has printed paper mounted on it.  Picture this:

I’ll print the major life events on a cute label that will be stuck on the envelope:

Envelope Label 

And everyone will write on paper (mounted on the colored cardstock) that looks like this: 

Cardstock

Neat idea, right?  I am so excited for this!  I just need to finish up the invitation suite and I can purchase the supplies for this project and get that out of the way, too—and I need to come up with a long list of major life events!  Ideas, anyone?  🙂

Are you incorporating a way to receive advice from family and friends into your wedding?

3 Comments

Filed under Rehearsal

3 responses to “Share Some Advice, Hey?

  1. Em

    What a fun idea!! Here are a few (some somber, some fun):

    -Birth of first grandchild
    -Your child’s first day of school
    -First night as an “empty-nester”
    -Death of a parent
    -First night as a home owner

    If I think of any more I’ll come back 🙂

  2. I think Mrs. Star did this, because I want to do the same thing!! Em thought of some awesome ideas – I’ll have to keep those in mind! And I’ll let you know if I come up with any other ones for ours!

  3. Pingback: Rehearsal Dinner Revisited « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

