Family Wedding Photo Sneek Peaks

Remember this post where I talked about displaying some of our family wedding photos at our reception?  I’ve got a few sneak peeks I thought you might like to see!

Dave & Patti This is my mom and dad at their wedding in 1979.  Yes, my dad totally rocked a blue tuxedo…and let’s be honest, ok?  There’s not many people who could get away with that, but my dad TOTALLY could.  Haha!

Picture 019 This is Dr. Groomy’s parents on their wedding day…also in 1979, I believe?  (Tobes—if you’re reading this—I am in LOVE with those chops!  Why don’t you grow those back?!)

Grandma C
A long time ago, I wrote a post about my Grandma, who passed away a few years ago.  This, my friends, would be her.  Even back in the 50s, she was one stylish babe!

Martin and Anna KloosAnd this is  Dr. Groomy’s great-great grandparents, I think?  Either way, I am so excited to have some of these older photos displayed.  It adds SUCH a unique and personal touch, I think! 

So, there you have it…a sneak peek at just a few of the wedding photos we’ll be displaying at the wedding.  I’ve got loads of frames stacked up in our living room, but I am still on the hunt for more. I am SO EXCITED about this display and can’t wait to see it come to life at our reception.

Did you display family photos at your wedding?  Was the process of gathering photos and deciding on the display as much fun for you as it is for me?!

9 Comments

Filed under Decor

9 responses to “Family Wedding Photo Sneek Peaks

  1. I loved gathering our pictures! I decided to add our siblings and my great grandparents’ pictures at the last minute and I’m so glad I did! David’s family isn’t sure where any of his great grandparents’ pictures are, but I had all 4 sets of mine!

  2. These are awesome! So fun to look at old wedding photos.

  3. This is SO COOL. I kind of wish I would have made the effort to do this now. Unfortunately my mom hates her wedding photos, my great grandma doesn’t have any, my dad’s mom doesn’t have any, and I don’t know if her parents have any either. So I really would have been displaying only my maternal grandmother’s, although her photos were awesome!

  4. I have a few photos like this for the wedding, and I LOVE them. So cool!

  5. Em

    Oh how fun!! I love your mom’s dress (and of course your dad’s kick-ass blue tux!)

  6. Nicole-Lynn

    Very nice! No, we’re not displaying any family photos because unfortunately, a lot of my side of the family are divorced.

  7. Pingback: Mannequins « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  8. Megan

    Any suggestions for someone whose groom’s parents are divorced? As are his grandparents? What else could I do to include them, do I use their wedding photo. (Both mom and dad have a strong dislike for each other).

  9. amyc13

    Honestly, if they don’t like each other, I wouldn’t include a wedding photo. And if I’m being totally honest, with a number of divorces in the family, I’m not sure I would even do a family wedding photo display. It might alienate some family members to not be included because they’re divorced and also remind them that they’re NOT married anymore.

    If I was in that situation but wanted to do a display similar to this, I would use a display in lieu of a traditional slideshow. You could incorporate all sorts of family photos, including weddings, but also include photos of you and your groom growing up, of family get-togethers & traditions, etc. There are all sorts of neat ways to display photos & I would consider doing that instead of just family wedding photos.

    Sorry if that’s not what you wanted to hear! We are lucky to both come from families where divorces are not at all common, so it was easy for us to do a display like this. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

