Our First Shower

This past weekend, my wonderful in-laws threw Dr. Groomy and I our first shower!  It was a Couples’ Shower, held for family and friends from Dr. Groomy’s side of the family.  We had a fabulous time and were so thankful to spend time with everyone.  I’ll let the pictures do most of the talking today…

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 061

The shower was held at a local pizza place that had a beautiful new enclosed patio.

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 062

My mother-in-law and aunt-in-law (her name is S-H-A-R-I Shari!  Haha!) did most of the organizing for this shower, with the help of my father-in-law.
The decor matched our wedding colors!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 063

Card & Cake Table

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 072

Yummy food!  We had salad and veggies…

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 073

Baked Mostaccioli…

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 074

And pizza! 

And of course, cake. You guys know what a cake-freak I am.  Isn’t this one beautiful?  Funny side story…my mother-in-law ordered the cake to be decorated just in ivory, so it would mix more with the color scheme she had going for the shower.  When she picked up the cake, she saw this…

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 069

Hmm.  Not really sure where the purple and green factored in, but it was a lovely cake nonetheless!  It was a cheesecake cake, so it had white cake, a layer of raspberry filling and cheesecake on the bottom.  YUM!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 076

And of course, we had to practice cutting the cake. 
Notice whose hand is on the knife?! 

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 080

My favorite part of the cake was the beautiful sugar flowers. 
Of course, I totally scarfed those and then had a purple tongue the whole night, but it was worth it—yum!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 079

 

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 071

This is Uncle Rick, enjoying some of the delicious food.  He and I have a long-standing joke that he is going to have me in tears from laughter at church during our wedding ceremony.  We’ll see, we’ll see!

After some fabulous food and drink, we opened our gifts.  I think you all know what that looks like, but here’s a few pics:

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 085
I was super pumped about our toaster!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 087 
Reading a card.

And here I am with the first part of my rehearsal dinner bouquet! 
(I plan to add to it at my other showers)

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 101

We had a wonderful time and we are so thankful!  I know some of Dr. Groomy’s relatives read the blog, so if you’re reading (Hi, Jill!), thank you so much!  And thank you so much to our wonderful hosts!

Did you have a bridal shower?  Tell me about it!

10 Comments

Filed under Shower

10 responses to “Our First Shower

  1. Looks like a great shower. I mentioned mine with a few pics in my old wedding blog. Check it out http://heatherandjoeyswedding.blogspot.com/2010/01/tisk-task-tuesday_12.html

  2. Em

    Omg that food looks delicious!!! I’m excited to see how huge that ribbon bouquet gets 🙂

  3. The food looks amazing!! So glad you had such a good time!

  4. Jill

    Glad you enjoyed yourself! Looks like it was a really fun shower! All the food looked delicious!

  5. Very nice! The food and cake looked SO yummy. And that’s sweet that it was for both you and your fiance. Mine is in September and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

  6. stephanie

    that looks like so much fun! and you two look so cute!
    we didn’t do a shower, i was so weddinged-out 😀

  7. kjpugs

    OMG THAT FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOD!

    PS I have never had a cake/cheesecake hybrid. I’m intrigued. Must try.

    ps you’re adorable, clearly.

  8. Looks like you both had a great time! The food and cake looked delicious! 🙂 Glad you had fun!

  9. Jill Kocian Johnson

    We had a wonderful time!!! Tessa did find the harmonica at her grandma’s!!! See you in a couple of months!!!

  10. Pingback: For Practice « Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

