A Math Lesson

What do you get when take this:

Hair 1
(Source)

plus this:

Hair 2
(Source)

?

Answer:  You get this!

Hair Trial 007

I had my hair trial this past weekend and I am so happy with how it turned out.  Here are the pictures!

Hair Trial 008  Side

Hair Trial 005
Front (with Veil)

Hair Trial 002  Back (with Veil)

Hair Trial 003
Side (with Veil)

I love love love love LOVE it.  And I love love love love LOVE the way I feel about myself when I have my hair like this.  Who knew such a simple thing could be such a self-esteem booster?  I felt so beautiful all day with my hair done up!

We are going to make a few small changes on the big day, though.  For starters, we are going to have the bun up a little higher, so the veil will sit higher on my head.  We are also going to tease a bit more for a little more volume to my hair at the crown.  And lastly, the rolls are going to be a bit more defined and cleaner.  I also think we’re going to add some rhinestones.  I keep searching for a perfect hairpiece, but to no avail.  Some tiny rhinestones might be the way I go!

Also this weekend, I found the PERFECT red lipstick for the big day.  I always have trouble shopping for reds—it seems I can never pick the right one.  With the motto “Always Be Prepared,”  I read up on how to pick the perfect red, and gleaned one major tip:  you’ll just KNOW when it’s the right color. I held each color up to the inside of my wrist, as well as to the tip of my index finger (did you know that that area most closely matches the color of your lips?  True story!).  And the articles I read were right, you DO just know when it’s the right color.  I ended up with this one:

Drumbeat Red
(Source)

L’Oreal Colour-Riche in Drumbeat Red.  I decided against a long-wear lipstick or stain because, to be perfectly honest, I hate them.  I don’t care if I have to reapply, because this lipstick is the perfect color and texture for me! 

So, all in all, a good weekend in the wedding hair and makeup department! 

Did you do a hair trial?  Got any ideas for me about hairpieces?

*All photos taken by my rockin’ stylist, Robin.

8 Comments

Filed under Hair & Makeup

8 responses to “A Math Lesson

  1. Lovely! And you look so happy which is what’s most important 🙂 Yay for finding the perfect red shade too.

  2. Ooo I love the hair trial! It looks so elegant and beautiful! And if it makes you FEEL beautiful that’s all that matterS!

    Awesome on the red lipstick too, I can NEVER find lipstick shades that are perfect either, so I know how exciting the perfect one can be!

  3. I got a little misty looking at the pictures with your hair done and veil on… you’re going to be a gorgeous bride Amy!

  4. You look gorgeous! And I think the changes will make your look absolutely perfect!

  5. Aaaahhhhhh!!!! It’s so prettyyyyy!!!! Oh Amy, it looks so good! And I agree, w/ a bit more volume it will be *perfect*

  6. hello…1st time visit ur blog here…
    ur blog here very nice…
    i’m from malaysia….

  7. kjpugs

    It’s perfect!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it and you look so happy!

  8. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: At the Salon | Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

