Hi.

So many wedding projects were completed this weekend!  If you take a look at the list, you’ll see how SHORT it is!  So exciting!  By far the biggest project of the weekend, though, was this:

More Wedding 046 
Our Welcome Bags are finished!  These will be handed out to the guests who are staying on our hotel room blocks at the various hotels.  We went shopping for them and I assembled everything between Saturday and Sunday.  Whew!  It was a lot of work, but I had a lot of fun putting these together. 

So, what’s included in each bag?

More Wedding 052

We included two water bottles, a bag of mixed nuts, a bag of our FAVORITE potato chips,  some Tootsie Rolls, and some gum.  Oh, and what are those paper products?!

The first one is a little bit of fun:

More Wedding 013A Do Not Disturb Sign for our guests’ hotel room doors!

Here’s a close-up:

More Wedding 014The top part says “We Partied Too Hard at Amy & Bradley’s Wedding!”, while the bottom is a tongue-in-cheek “In Case of Emergency” fill-in-the-blank.

The other paper product is our Welcome Packet.  Originally, I was going to include various guide books from the Milwaukee area…but when it came down to it, I didn’t get around to hoarding enough from local hotels and travel establishments to make it work.  Instead, I decided to just make a packet with pertinent information for our guests.  Because we don’t have to make programs for our ceremony (our church creates them for us, score!), this project sort of took the place of that and I looked for inspiration from a lot of brides’ wedding programs.  Here’s what our Welcome Packets look like:

More Wedding 037Front

More Wedding 038  Welcome Letter.  You can’t see it very well here but we individually signed each and every welcome letter, in a colored Sharpie that matched the covers of each packet (here, the color is yellow).

More Wedding 039
Weekend Itinerary & Key Contacts

More Wedding 040
Walking Directions & Cab Information

More Wedding 041
Restaurants & Local Attractions

I made Welcome Packets in 5 different colors, just for something fun:

More Wedding 042We had to fill 30 Welcome Bags, so we did  6 of each color.  Easy peasy!

You may have also noticed our SWEET water bottles we included in the bags: 

More Wedding 010 
I’ll be doing a separate tutorial post on those later this week!

So, those are our Welcome Bags!  I think our guests will like them!  It feels SO good to have those done.  My wedding projects list is getting smaller and smaller…and hopefully by the end of this coming weekend, I should pretty much have EVERYTHING done, almost a week ahead of my “week-ahead schedule” and two weeks ahead of the wedding.  Yay!

Did you do Out of Town or Welcome Bags?  What did you include?

9 Comments

Filed under Gifts

9 responses to “Hi.

  1. You did such a great job girlie! Love the welcome packets, and the contents. We are also planning to include a “do not disturb” sign for our guests in their OOT bags. I’m also including some water bottles, a snack, some coupons to local restaurants, map of the area, and 2 water bottles.

    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. ^woops already said water bottles haha

  3. TD

    If any extra welcome bags were to make their way across the street from your apartment to a certain neighbor/Chief Ushering Officer’s place…I don’t believe said CUO would complain.

    In fact, I hear that the CUO very much enjoys Jalapeno chips. Very much.

  4. They look great! We did out of town bags too – I think they’re such a nice touch for your guests. I did a post on ours (http://soontobemrsf.blogspot.com/2010/07/diy-detail-oot-bags.html) but I included a schedule for the weekend, directions, do not disturb door hangers, personalized water bottles, a guide booklet to our city that we got from the visitor’s bureau, chex mix, trail mix, and a big cookie from a local bakery.

  5. Great job! We’re doing welcome bags too, with a little note, water bottles (I don’t think we’ll bother personalizing them though) and some snacks.

  6. Love the “Hi” tags! So simple 🙂 Also, I LOVE the “do not disturb” signs. I wish, I wish, I WISH I had done those. ::kicks self:: Your guests are going to love everything. If you’re staying at the hotel, don’t forget to give yourself a bag. You never know, maybe you’ll drink too much at your RD and really need it. Not that I would, you know, have any experience with that…or anything…

  7. kjpugs

    I am DYING over all of these! I had better plans for our hotel guests but starting a new job two weeks before the wedding put a kink in my plans. I would like to attend your wedding now, k thanx!

  8. Those Do Not Disturb Signs are HYSTERICAL!! I think I’d only put them in my friends’ welcome bags though.

  9. Sara

    You’re too cute! I’m a little bummed that I’m local and can’t get in on the welcome package! 😉

Leave a Reply

