Top 3 Tips To Navigate the Buffet…During Cocktail Hour

This morning’s guest post comes from one of my dear friends, Sabrina—the famous RhodeyGirlTests!  She and I have been friends for a few years now, though we’ve never actually met in person.  We have built a wonderful friendship through phone, email, blogs, twitter, cards, and gifts, and I am so honored to have her post for me today.  Here she is with her best tips for navigating those cocktail hour buffets!

I love weddings. I love seeing a couple in love sharing their love with their family and friends. I love all the details. I love the music. I love the dancing, the drinking, the food!

1 
To be honest, I never really enjoy wedding dinner. By the time dinner comes around I am more interested in getting my groove on than sitting and eating. My husband is the same way. My favorite food at a wedding (aside from dessert, OBVIOUSLY) is the buffet at cocktail hour as well as the passed appetizers. Here are a few tips to navigate the buffet the right way:

1. Snag a cocktail table before you even get your first drink or plate.

If you grab a table with a few of your friends, you will have someplace to put down your drink and plate. It is too difficult to eat with both in your hands!

2. Scope out the buffet before filling your plate with anything.

Sometimes the best buffet items are at the end of the line, and you don’t want to miss out simply because your plate is already too full. I like to check out the whole buffet before I get into line.

3. Pick 2 or 3 special foods to try, and stick with those.

We all want to feel good in our dresses or suits all evening, right? So don’t pig out! I like to pick 2 or 3 of the best items and enjoy those exclusively. At the last wedding I attended I stuck with shrimp cocktail and the pasta station.

Most importantly, have FUN and enjoy the love in the air.

Congratulations to Amy & Dr. Groomy, I am so happy for you both!

Sabrina lives in Philadelphia, but grew up in Rhode Island. She is the writer behind rhodeygirltests.com, where she shares her passion for food through her healthy recipes, creative menus, and interesting dining experiences.

1 Comment

Filed under Guest Blogger

One response to “Top 3 Tips To Navigate the Buffet…During Cocktail Hour

  1. These are great tips! Especially getting a table before getting a drink. Maybe I’ll make my husband get a table while I get drinks…lol I’m antsy 🙂

Leave a Reply

