On My Absence

Alternatively titled, Sorry Blog Readers, I hope you’ll forgive me!

As has been apparent by my recent absence, I am bored with writing about our honeymoon.  And frankly, if I’m bored, it means you, as readers, are likely bored too.  It’s not that our honeymoon was boring, at all, because it certainly wasn’t!  It’s just that honeymoon posts are, let’s face it, kind of boring, so I feel I need to apologize.  I strongly dislike when bloggers disappear, and it was never my intention to do so.  Granted, I’ve had a lot of things going on lately (namely a big bout of laryngitis, which I STILL have), but that’s no excuse.  The truth is, I’m just bored with writing the blog lately and I feel like I have some big time writer’s block going on.

This past weekend, we hung out with friends at my alma mater, UW-Madison.  On the way home, we stopped to visit with my parents.  My mom had dug out all of her old scrapbooks of my sister and I growing up, and we had such a blast looking through them.  She also dug out something I haven’t thought about in years:  a collection of short stories I wrote when I was in elementary school.  Tons of different stories—scary stories, stories about sick kids, fantasy stories, stories about relationships…and all of them illustrated and laminated and bound in books complete with “About the Author” sections written by me. 

When I was little, I never said I wanted to be a writer when I grew up.  People would ask, as people often do, and I seem to remember that my answers were always teacher, marine biologist, or whatever exotic career I had read about that week.  Meanwhile, I always had my head buried in a book, and I was always writing.

 

writing(Source)

I don’t know why I’ve never thought about writing as a career.  I’ve always loved to do it.  The written word is something I am passionate about.  I would rather be reading a book than doing pretty much anything else.  I am constantly telling the story of my every day happenings inside my head.  With blogging, I sometimes get to write it down.

The point is, I am refocusing, and that’s why I haven’t been posting as much lately.  I’ve been reading a lot of books and re-reading a lot of great posts about freelancing and writing in general from some other inspiring bloggers.  And I am constantly remembering those childhood stories I wrote so long ago.  They sparked something in me this week, and I want to take some time to fan the flames a little.

As an aside, I am working to get my post-wedding blog up and running, with at least a few posts going before I go live with my readers.  So for now, I’m going to finish the honeymoon posts up by letting the pictures tell most of the story (look for that post later today or early next week).  I hope you won’t mind.  And of course, I’ll still be doing all of the wedding recaps (I am dying to share those with you all!).  I just found out our online gallery of pictures will go live next week, so I should be able to work on some recap posts over the Thanksgiving holiday!  Yay!

Lastly, I just want to say a quick thank you to my readers.  You guys are great, and I have made so many wonderful friends through blogging.  Thanks for excusing my absence lately and know that things are finally moving around here again!

Now you tell me:  what did you want to be when you grew up?  Are you doing that?  Like me, did marriage cause you to re-evaluate things like your career?

8 Comments

Filed under Announcements

8 responses to “On My Absence

  1. no worries! And to be completely honest, I am usually bored by HM recaps. I usually scan them really quickly to see if there’s any little shout out about when the real recaps start. LOL, promise not to tell my dirty secret, will ya? And I think you would make a marvelous freelance writer! Feel better soon!

  2. Amy! First of all I was completely shocked and flattered that you mentioned my writing blog. You are too kind, and I’m glad you like it! I’m gearing up to post regularly on it again…

    Second, I completely understand how you feel. Have you noticed my one-post-per-week trend over on my wedding blog? I’m also finding it hard to want to sit down and write those darn honeymoon recaps…especially when there are other things I’d rather spend the time doing.

    You’re a great writer so I think you just need to find a subject you’re more interested in writing about. If that’s not the honeymoon, move on! Post the rest of your pictures if you want (I for one really want to see where else you ended up going in San Fran/Napa!) and I’m sure once you start writing your wedding recaps, you’ll feel inspired again. I think I’ll take my own advice too…

    Looking forward to reading your future posts here and your new blog!

  3. Completely understandable — no need to apologize! 🙂 After our wedding, I did a little bit of a “life check”, too. I can’t exactly describe why it happened, but I started thinking about things (career, relationships with friends, even hobbies!) and evaluating how happy they made me in the grand scheme of things. Maybe it was because this huge monumental HAPPY thing just happened, and I wanted to make sure that other facets of my life were making me just as happy as my marriage.

    ANYWAY….(reminding myself this is a comment!) when I grew up, I wanted to be the following things: ballerina, teacher, stewardess, and a mom. Good luck “fanning the flames!” 🙂

  4. Hey darlin’,

    First of all, I miss you.

    Second of all, I wanted to be a broadcast journalist (a la Diane Sawyer or Joan Lunden, haha) or a doctor.

    Third of all, I am feeling much the same as you are — and I haven’t even gotten married — but I have moved away from home, from an established life, to a new state, to a new, dynamic life, to a new, part-time, reduced-salary job. I have been doing a lot of thinking about money, about career, about goals, about everything in my life — what is it I really want for my life and out of my life and why and how can I make that happen?

    I love writing — and I am glad you love writing, too. It can be very rewarding. I want to find a way to get back into it and make money off it, but blogging, for now, is scratching that itch — both for writing and for my new career goals of becoming a food writer or a cafe/bakery owner.

    We’re going to be in town next Wednesday; maybe you and Brad could join us for a drink and some much needed catching up? Let me know, doll.

    Love you muchly!

  5. UncleTD

    When I was young, I wanted to be a glorified babysitter in a run-down office, working with children and working for a Brit who believes that Americans have “bastardized” the English language.

    So…I’m living the dream, LongGermanName.

  6. Pingback: The San Francisco Chronicles, III « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. Um, I’ll forgive you if you forgive me. My wedding blog and my new blog are seriously neglected. I just got a job and it’s taken up a lot more time than I anticipated! So no worries about your unplanned hiatus. Sometimes it’s just what us bloggers need to come back stronger and more interesting writers!

  8. I told people I wanted to be a professional un-tangle-er. Not kidding.

    And GOOD FOR YOU for refocusing a bit! Can’t wait to see what you’re up to!

Leave a Reply

