City Chic Nuptials: At the Salon

Saturday, October 9, 2010 dawned clear, sunny, and warm.  I woke a little before 7am…holy crap, we are getting married today!

My eyes were puffy from all of my emotions the day before, but on that morning, I felt so…happy.  And calm.  And ready. This day was such a long time coming and now it was finally here!

I hadn’t slept well the night before—both my nerves/emotions and the bachelor party in the hotel room next door were contributing factors (True Story:  I had to call hotel security at about 3am because the gentlemen next door were partying so hard.  It went something like this:  “Hello, Front Desk.”  “Hi, I’m up in room such and such and I’m getting married tomorrow.  There is a party going on in the room next to mine and—”  “Oh my goodness, ma’am we are so sorry.  Someone will be right up to quiet them down.”  I loved playing the “I’m Getting Married” card!).

Regardless,  I still woke up feeling really rested and really excited.  I got myself ready by taking a quick shower and popping on my “Sexy Little Bride” tank top:

Scherm0099L(Oh, hello, boobs!)

Then I met my sister down in her room and we picked up my mother-in-law and another bridesmaid Kate in the lobby…and off we went to the salon!

There was another bridal party getting ready in the salon at the same time as us, and I have to say, I think our set-up trumped theirs!  While they just sipped their Starbucks coffees, we had brought along muffins, fruit salad, champagne, orange juice, coffee, and condiments and set up a huge spread in the salon.  This was a great idea because everyone could munch while we were all getting beautified.  So there’s a tip for you:  feed yourself and your friends and family on the morning of the wedding.  You don’t know when you will eat next and even though I didn’t really have much of an appetite (I felt calm but my stomach didn’t), I was glad to be able to munch on a few things here and there.

I don’t have many pictures from at the salon, so here are a smattering of the ones I could find!  With me that day was my maid of honor, Ali (my sister), two of my bridesmaids, Kate and Beezus, my mom, my mother-in-law, my grandma, my cousin and personal attendant Erin, and my flower girl Cassidy.  It was a really fun group and we had a great time!

DSCN0703
Photo by my cousin, Erin
Getting my hair done by Robin.  She was more of a perfectionist than I was when it came to my hairstyle!  If you’ll remember, we went with this style…

hairtrial008
Photo by my stylist, Robin

…and Robin really worked to make it perfect on the wedding day.  I loved it!  Here’s a good view from the back while Dr. Groomy & I had our first dance. You can’t really tell in this photo, but we added a few rhinestones here and there to glam it up:

Scherm1006L

Everyone else got their hair done as well, and some of them got their makeup done as well.  Here’s my mother-in-law, Mary Sue, getting her makeup done:

Mary Sue doesn't NEED any makeup!!!
Photo by a family member

And here’s the two of us posing afterwards:

Mary and Amy all dolled up
Photo by a family member

Being at the salon was a really fun way to kick off the day, and I am glad I chose to go out to get my hair done rather than have someone come to my hotel room.  We had a total blast and it was a really calming part of the day!

Up next, what the guys were up to.  Hint:  it involves a chili contest.  Stay tuned!

Missed something?
First I got a mani-pedi with my sister, then I cried.
Next, we headed to church to rehearse.
After that, we had a fiesta-themed rehearsal dinner at a local restaurant.

*All photos by Sarah Immel Photography unless otherwise noted.

21 Comments

Filed under Recaps

21 responses to “City Chic Nuptials: At the Salon

  1. Glad to hear your day got off to a great start! And I love your sexy little bride tank! I wore one similar from Vickies, and loved it! 🙂

  2. Sounds fun! We got ready in the hotel, which was our only option since our ceremony began at noon. It was fun though. We didn’t have a spread of food in our room, but the hotel served breakfast so my bridemaids grabbed food and brought a plate back for me so I could munch while my hair and makeup got done.

    Your hair came out great and I love that photo of your first dance! Can’t wait to see more!

  3. amg

    Aww, you look so happy! 🙂 I also love your tank top — too cute! And, I love the little teaser pic of your first dance.

  4. Your hair is so pretty! And I love how the hotel handled your 3am call!

  5. Dancy

    I love seeing the morning pictures in recaps. The prep in the salon was SO key for my state of mind that day. My girlfriends really came through… also, I’m pretty sure it’s the only time I ate that day. LOL

  6. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Meanwhile… | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. Your hair looks beautiful! I love the back of your dress too!

  8. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: I Become A Bride! | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  9. Loved your hair! Very simple and classic! So pretty! Glad you had a nice time getting ready!

  10. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: We Leave For Church | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  11. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Pre-Ceremony | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  12. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Down the Aisle | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  13. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Ceremony | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  14. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Post-Ceremony | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  15. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Pictures | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  16. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Cocktail Hour | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  17. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Grand March | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  18. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Dinner | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  19. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Let the Dancing Begin! | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  20. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Night Shots | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  21. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Last Hurrah | Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

