City Chic Nuptials: The Ceremony

I feel as though if you’re not in attendance at the ceremony, the blog posts recapping them can be kind of boring.  That being said, you can’t exactly skip over that part in telling the story, as it is the pivotal point of your entire wedding day!  I find ceremony recaps are best retold in pictures, so that’s just what I’m going to do.

Scherm0337L

We sang…

Scherm0341L

We prayed…

Scherm0379L

Scherm0344L

Readings were spoken…

Scherm0347L

Scherm0359L

Scherm0412L

And Guido slept.  Standing up.

Scherm0332L

Rings were blessed…

Scherm0393L

and then vows were exchanged.

Scherm0386L

Scherm0402L

Scherm0408L

Stories and laughter were shared, as were sly looks of love.

Scherm0365L

Scherm0369L

Scherm0370L

The gifts were brought up by our mothers and the Eucharist was given.

Scherm0423L

We waved a few quick hellos as people passed…

Scherm0440L

There was more singing and praying (and coloring)…

Scherm0362L

Scherm0363L

Scherm0427L

Scherm0411L

Then Father Mike blessed us…

Scherm0457L

Scherm0415L

And it was time to “kiss the bride.”

Scherm0462L

And we were officially husband and wife!

Scherm0467L

The ceremony was really special to both of us, and obviously, it was the highlight of the day.  I can’t even really put into words what it meant to both of us, and I am being selfish and keeping those feelings to myself instead of blogging them to you.  Sometimes, when you blog, especially concerning a big life event like this, you “lose” things that were just yours, if that makes sense. And how I felt about the ceremony is just mine…and I want it to stay that way.  So you’ll forgive my glib recap post about it…and know that it was really, really special, and I never wanted it to end.  I just want to keep those feelings between Dr. Groomy and I, because they are…remarkable, really.

Another side note:  many of you remarked on my previous post about how cool it was that our parents all participated in the “hand off.”  Actually, that was a requirement of our church!  My mom was actually supposed to walk down the aisle with us but she got special permission to just stand up at the end of our walk because she knew she would be too emotional otherwise.  The Catholic Church and our parish especially really emphasizes the family connection to the wedding ceremony, hence the reason that all the parents participate in that part.  Pretty cool, no?

 

****************************************
Missed something?
First I got a mani-pedi with my sister, then I cried.
Next, we headed to church to rehearse.
After that, we had a fiesta-themed rehearsal dinner at a local restaurant.

In the morning, we went to the salon to get our hair done.
Meanwhile, the guys went to a chili contest and got ready at the hotel.
Back in my hotel room, the girls got ready.
Then, I put on my dress and officially became a bride.

Next, we headed to church!
Everything was set and we found out what happened to the missing groomsman.
Then it was finally time to head down the aisle.

*All photos by Sarah Immel Photography.

12 Comments

Filed under Recaps

12 responses to “City Chic Nuptials: The Ceremony

  1. Great pictures! I love the pictures of you two just looking at eachother! So sweet! I’m glad it was a very special and memorable day for you!

  2. There’s something about that 2nd picture (where you’re holding hands and each holding 1/2 of the wedding program) that just makes me really happy. 🙂

  3. Gorgeous pics! What a pretty church!

  4. These photos are beautiful. Your church looks amazing! I love the ones of you and your hubby making faces at each other. Sweet 🙂

  5. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Post-Ceremony | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  6. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Pictures | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  7. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Cocktail Hour | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  8. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Grand March | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  9. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Dinner | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  10. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Let the Dancing Begin! | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  11. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Night Shots | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  12. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Last Hurrah | Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

