City Chic Nuptials: Let the Dancing Begin!

After dinner was over, it was time for the dancing to begin.  We finished up some more mingling and then took center stage for our first dance. 

Scherm0984L

We chose this song:

We love Dave Matthews Band and even though this is a newer song, we felt it was really fitting and appropriate for a wedding (honestly, we don’t put much stock into having a “song” so we wanted to find something we liked and felt like we could dance to). 

Scherm0987L

Scherm0988L

Scherm0989L

Scherm1010LI sang to Dr. Groomy the whole time.  I have a notoriously horrible voice, so this was a great inside joke, haha!

Then it was time for the dances with our parents.  My dad and I were up first:

Scherm1013LWe pretty much just laughed the whole time, haha!
{Edited to add:  my dad and I danced to
‘The Way You Look Tonight” by Frank Sinatra}

Scherm1019L

Then came Dr. Groomy and his mom:

Scherm1028L{Edited to add:  Dr. Groomy & his mom danced to
a really obscure song called “Mary Sue.”  That’s his mom’s name!}

Scherm1024L
This is Dr. Groomy’s dad.  I LOVE this photo!

Scherm1030L

And after that, we opened up the floor to our guests! 

Scherm1076L

And we had just one more special dance planned.  In lieu of a bouquet and garter toss, we hosted an anniversary dance.  All of the married couples were brought out onto the floor, and the DJ announced years of marriage throughout the course of the song (i.e. “If you’ve been married 5 years or less, please leave the dance floor.”).  The last ones standing were my grandparents, who have been married for 55 years.  They beat my aunt and uncle by only one year!  We gave my grandmother the “toss” bouquet and snapped a couple of photos.

Scherm1080L
My Aunt Prue and Uncle Rod (my dad’s second oldest sister and her husband), who have been married for 54 years!

Scherm1084L
My grandma and grandpa, celebrating when they found out they won! 

Scherm1086L

Scherm1087L
I’m sure she’s giving some good advice here, haha!

Only a few more recap posts left!  Don’t worry though, I have a few other posts planned as well…and I can’t wait to introduce you to my new blog.  Up next though,  a few more formal photos…and a whole lotta dancing! 

Scherm0998L

 

 

****************************************
Missed something?
First I got a mani-pedi with my sister, then I cried.
Next, we headed to church to rehearse.
After that, we had a fiesta-themed rehearsal dinner at a local restaurant.

In the morning, we went to the salon to get our hair done.
Meanwhile, the guys went to a chili contest and got ready at the hotel.
Back in my hotel room, the girls got ready.
Then, I put on my dress and officially became a bride.

Next, we headed to church!
Everything was set and we found out what happened to the missing groomsman.
Then it was finally time to head down the aisle.
The ceremony happened and we got married!
Afterwards, we signed the marriage license and took photos in the sanctuary.
Then, we hopped on our school bus and headed to Lake Park for more photos!

Meanwhile, our guests enjoyed the cocktail hour and all of our reception details.
We had the Grand March and cut the wedding cake.
Dinner was served, and the speeches were given.

*All photos by Sarah Immel Photography.

5 Comments

Filed under Recaps

5 responses to “City Chic Nuptials: Let the Dancing Begin!

  1. Aww, I love that Dave Matthews Band song! So sweet. What songs did you dance to with your parents? Also, I really *really* wanted to do an anniversary dance, but somehow it got lost in the shuffle and never ended up happening. So glad you had one — I think they’re really fun to watch!

  2. You two looked like you had so much fun! 🙂 Nice pics!

  3. Such sweet photos! I can’t believe you’re already almost done with your recaps. I’m excited to see your new blog. 🙂

  4. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Night Shots | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  5. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: The Last Hurrah | Little Miss Wedding Planner

Leave a Reply

