Rehearsal Dinner Centerpieces

So remember when I said I had a lot of projects to blog?  Here comes round two…I finished our rehearsal dinner centerpieces!

I decided to use tin cans and fake flowers for these centerpieces…not only to save on cost, but so that I could get them out of the way now rather than later.  Plus I think the more casual tin cans go great with our fiesta theme!

Making these was really easy.

Step 1.  Collect a lot of tin cans.

Step 2.  Soak said tin cans in a sink full of soapy water, so the labels are easy to get off.

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 102

Step 3.  Scrape off the labels on each can—this should be pretty effortless.  If not, soak a little longer!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 103

Step 4.  Rinse and dry the cans.  Soon, you’ll have them stacked on the counter like this:

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 104

Step 5.  Print your design in Microsoft Word or the program of your choice.  I went with our casual monogram (seen here, here, and here) and the words “Amy & Brad’s Rehearsal Dinner” plus the date. 

Step 6.  Measure your cans and cut the design accordingly.  Run through Xyron or use another form of adhesive.

Step 7.  Attach design to tin can!

Johnny Mac Wedding & Shower 105

Step 8.  Stuff flowers.

And that’s it!  You’re left with this:

016 
Front

017Back

As you can see I alternated colors on the design.  I also bought both red and blue flowers…I am thinking I might rearrange so that some centerpieces are just blue and some are just red.

What is/was your rehearsal dinner like?  Did you do a lot of hands-on decorating for it? 

10 Comments

Filed under How-To, Rehearsal

10 responses to “Rehearsal Dinner Centerpieces

  1. Cute! I did the majority of the decorating for our rehearsal dinner since my MIL ‘isn’t crafty’ in her words. We just reused the centerpieces from my shower (fake flowers in wine bottles!) and did a table with our advice cards and some flowers and called it good. 🙂

  2. So cute! I’ll be doing most of the decorating for our Rehearsal Dinner too, even though my future in laws are hosting it.

    Gosh, this may have to be another idea I need to borrow! 🙂 Your rehearsal dinner ideas are so fun and creative. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Adorable! I would definitely alternate colors on the flowers. That would be fantastic!

  4. kjpugs

    These are so great! Clearly I’m obsessed with the color palette. I never would have thought of soaking off the labels!

  5. So cute! Our rehearsal dinner is in a restaurant’s wine cellar so the space already has its own decorations (lots of wine bottles and candles, basically). So unless I really feel like getting crafty, we don’t need to do anything. But I love what you came up with and can’t wait to see your rehearsal dinner all set up!

  6. Em

    Love them! They’ll go great w/ your theme 🙂 I wish we had done something like this instead of paying way too much for crappy real-flower centerpieces at our rehearsal.

  7. I featured your project on my Make It Yourself Monday post this week.

    http://brideonbudget.blogspot.com/2010/07/make-it-yourself-monday_26.html

  8. Pingback: For Practice « Little Miss Wedding Planner

  9. Pingback: City Chic Nuptials: Fiesta! | Little Miss Wedding Planner

  10. That is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.

    Brief but very precise information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

Leave a comment